32 Competitors From Across the Globe Will Fight in a Series of Matches on "Battlebots"

Find Shows Print Friendly Version Convert to PDF     

18 June 2016
Photo: ABC/Adam Taylor
Thursday, June 23 from 8 to 10 PM ET/PT on ABC
          The extraordinary robot-fighting tournament “BattleBots” will kick things off with a two-hour season premiere. The first round of next-generation robots will go head to head, as 32 teams converge in an arena full of hazards for the chance to advance out of the qualifying round in pursuit of the championship.
          Each match will consist of a three-minute bout in which the goal is to completely destroy or disable the opponent. If there is no knockout during the three-minute battle, the panel of judges will declare a victor to move onto the next round. Judging the matches are former “BattleBots” competitor and special effects artist Fon Davis, the face of “Nerdist,” Jessica Chobot, and special guest judge Adam Savage (“MythBusters”). 
          48 builders representing four continents make up this year’s field – double the size of last year’s tournament. With them they bring an unprecedented arsenal, innovative designs, destructive new weapons and for the first time in the history of robot-fighting tournaments, the launch of drone warfare. The competitors range from NASA engineers to teenage students and everyone in between — each with one goal: to claim the ultimate title and walk away with the Giant Nut. Winners from the 24 matches in the qualifying round automatically advance, after which the selection committee picks eight wildcards from the losers to join them. Once the teams advance out of the qualifying round, it’s single elimination all the way to the title.
          ESPN’s Samantha Ponder hosts season two, with expert play-by-play analysis from veteran sports broadcaster Chris Rose and color commentary from former UFC fighter Kenny Florian. Sideline reporter Alison Haislip covers every inch of the robot fighting mayhem, and ring announcer Faruq Tauheed presides as the bots go metal-a-metal.
          The 32 teams slated to compete during the two-hour episode of the qualifying round are listed in alphabetical order below:

1. BETA: Team Captain – John Reid
     (Hometown: United Kingdom)
2. Bite Force: Team Captain – Paul Ventimiglia
     (Hometown: Montain View, CA)
3. Black Ice: Team Captain – Dan Barry
     (Hometown: South Hadley, MA)
4. Blacksmith: Team Captain – Al Kindle
     (Hometown: Edison, NJ)
5. Bombshell: Team Captain – Michael Jeffries
     (Hometown: Norcross, GA)
6. Bucktooth Burl: Team Captain – Julia Chernushevich
     (Hometown: Saskatoon, Canada)
7. Bronco: Team Captain – Alexander Rose and Reason Bradley
     (Hometown: Sausalito, CA)
8. Captain Shrederator: Team Captain – Brian Nave
     (Hometown: Ormond Beach, FL)
9. Chomp: Team Captain – Zoe Stephenson
     (Hometown: Glendale, CA)
10. Chrome Fly: Team Captain – George Matus
     (Hometown: Salt Lake City, UT)
11. Complete Control: Team Captain – Derek Young
     (Hometown: San Francisco, CA)
12. Death Roll: Team Captain – Erica Hediger
     (Hometown: Australia)
13. Disk O’Inferno: Team Captain – Jason Bardis
     (Hometown: Irvine, CA)
14. Escape Velocity: Team Captain – Raymond Barsa
     (Hometown: Manhattan Beach, CA)
15. Hypershock: Team Captain – Will Bales
     (Hometown: Cambridge, MA)
16. Icewave: Team Captain – Marc DeVidts
     (Hometown: Burlingame, CA)
17. Lucky: Team Captain – Rob Masek
     (Hometown: Nashua, NH)
18. Minotaur: Team Captain – Marco Antonio Meggiolaro
     (Hometown: Rio de Janeiro)
19. Mohawk: Team Captain – Korey Kline
     (Hometown: Miami, FL)
20. Nightmare: Team Captain – Jim Smentowski
     (Hometown: Bradenton, FL)
21. Obwalden Overlord: Team Captain – Rob Knight
     (Hometown: France)
22. Overdrive: Team Captain – Christian & Carissa Carlberg
     (Hometown: San Luis Obispo, CA)
23. Photon Storm: Team Captain – Ed Hoppitt
     (Hometown: United Kingdom)
24. The Ringmaster: Team Captain – Hal Rucker
     (Hometown: Hillsborough, CA)
25. Splatter: Team Captain – Jeff Vasquez
     (Hometown: Newbury Park, CA)
26. Stinger: Team Captain – Matt Maxham
     (Hometown: Sacramento, CA)
27. Subzero: Team Captain – Jerry Clarkin
     (Hometown: Malvern, PA)
28. Tombstone: Team Captain – Ray Billings
     (Hometown: Placerville, CA)
29. Ultimo Destructo: Team Captain – Sean J. Irvin
     (Hometown: Valkaria, FL)
30. Ultraviolent: Team Captain – Andrew Peterson
     (Hometown: Blacksburg, VA)
31. Warhead: Team Captain – Simon Scott and Ian Lewis
     (Hometown: United Kingdom)
32. Warrior Clan: Team Captain – Clint & Jake Ewert
     (Hometown: Dorchester, WI)
< back

You must be logged in to view this item.

This area is reserved for members of the news media. If you qualify, please update your user profile and check the box marked "Check here to register as an accredited member of the news media". Please include any notes in the "Supporting information for media credentials" box. We will notify you of your status via e-mail in one business day.