"I Am Jazz" Premieres with an 11 Episode Series Following Jazz's Life as a Transgender Teen

Find Shows Print Friendly Version Convert to PDF     

12 July 2015
I am Jazz

Photo: Courtesy of TLC

“I Am Jazz”
Premieres Wednesday, July 15 at 10/9c on TLC

          Jazz Jennings has the life of a typical teenage girl - balancing school, sports, family, and more - with one difference: when she was born everyone assumed she was a boy, but as soon as she could talk, she let her family know that she was really a girl. Beginning her transition at the age of five, Jazz is now a 14-year-old girl, preparing to enter high school. Living as a transgender teen comes with a unique perspective and some unexpected day-to-day experiences but, surrounded by her loving family and friends, Jazz proves that some of the most remarkable people are also the most relatable.

         I AM JAZZ  premieres July 15 at 10/9c on TLC, with the 11 episode series following Jazz's complex and fascinating story. Throughout the season, viewers follow as Jazz prepares to start her new school in the fall, faces decisions regarding her health, has to choose between her passion for soccer and spending more time with friends, and navigates entering the dating world.

         Joining Jazz are her parents Greg and Jeanette, who have always supported Jazz, but now worry about what's next as Jazz enters adolescence. Jazz's siblings, sister Ari, and twin brothers Griffen & Sander, stand by their little sister and guide her as she enters her teenage years.

< back

You must be logged in to view this item.

This area is reserved for members of the news media. If you qualify, please update your user profile and check the box marked "Check here to register as an accredited member of the news media". Please include any notes in the "Supporting information for media credentials" box. We will notify you of your status via e-mail in one business day.