PyeongChang 2018 Olympic Winter Games Opening Ceremonies airs on NBC

Find Shows Print Friendly Version Convert to PDF     

03 February 2018
rickspicks
2018 Olympic Winter Games Opening Ceremonies
Pictured: (l-r) Mike Tirico, Primetime Host, NBC Olympics; Jim Bell, President, NBC Olympics Production & Programming;
Apolo Ohno, Short Track Speed Skating Analyst / Photo by: Paul Drinkwater/NBC
 
2018 Olympic Winter Games Opening Ceremonies
Friday, February 9 at 8 PM ET/5 PM PT on NBC

 
          The networks of NBCUniversal will present the most live Winter Olympics ever, when the XXIII Olympic Winter Games in PyeongChang, South Korea, begin on February 8. With the benefit of a 14-hour time difference, NBC and NBCSN will present LIVE COMPETITION IN PRIMETIME on every night of the Pyeong Chang Olympics (excluding the days of the Opening and Closing Ceremonies). Check your local listings for the daily televised Winter Olympics schedules on NBC, NBCSN, CNBC and USA Network.

          Figure skating, alpine skiing, or snowboarding will be featured live in primetime every night on NBC from Thursday, Feb. 8, to Saturday, Feb. 25, as viewers across the country will watch the likes of Mikaela Shiffrin, Lindsey Vonn, Ted Ligety, Nathan Chen, Shaun White, and Chloe Kim pursue Olympic gold.

          In addition, for the first time ever at a Winter Olympics, NBC will broadcast Olympic primetime competition live across all time zones. Whether daytime, primetime or “Primetime Plus” (formerly the late night show), all U.S. viewers will be able to watch NBC’s coverage of the XXIII Olympic Winter Games from PyeongChang, South Korea, at the same time. NBCOlympics.com will offer live streaming of the NBC broadcast network, including primetime and Primetime Plus, and NBCSN will air live primetime coverage, both firsts at a Winter Games.

 

         “Contrary to popular belief, the 14-hour time difference works very well for live primetime coverage,” said Jim Bell, President, Production and Programming, NBC Olympics. “People initially think it’s all the way on the other side of the world, but the time difference is 14 hours, so that means that 8 p.m. Eastern is 10 a.m. the next day in South Korea. That’s right when many of the marquee events -- figure skating, alpine, snowboarding --- will be taking place. This year, NBC will broadcast live across all time zones to the entire country, creating a unique national collective experience for this event – and we will be everywhere – from broadcast and cable television, to digital streaming, and social media.”

         On most nights of the 2018 Olympic Winter Games, NBC’s primetime broadcast will begin at 8 p.m. ET, 7 p.m. CT, 6 p.m. MT, and 5 p.m. PT. It will be followed by local news, and then Primetime Plus, consisting of live continuing coverage from PyeongChang, which will air until 2 a.m. ET on many nights. A replay of the primetime program will then follow.

          For the first time, NBC Olympics will live stream an Opening Ceremony. The live digital coverage from PyeongChang will begin Friday, Feb. 9 at 6 a.m. ET on NBCOlympics.com and the NBC Sports app, and will feature the pageantry and the Parade of Nations with world feed graphics and the event’s natural sound (without commentators). NBC’s fully-produced presentation of the Opening Ceremony, hosted by Mike Tirico and Katie Couric and featuring interviews and profiles that will air that night at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT on NBC.
 

 


 
< back

You must be logged in to view this item.





This area is reserved for members of the news media. If you qualify, please update your user profile and check the box marked "Check here to register as an accredited member of the news media". Please include any notes in the "Supporting information for media credentials" box. We will notify you of your status via e-mail in one business day.